First steps in the world of stock market!!!

Hi All,
I am very excited to step into the world of trading. Have been a member of this site for abt 4 days, and am already amazed at the wealth of experience and knowledge that this forum can boast of!! To someone like me, its like learning basic science from Einstein!!!! :)

Abt me and my trading till date: My broker is ICICIdirect. I started trading on 1st of Feb 09. My current portfolio has auto, power, entertainment and infotech stocks. I have started a SIP. My total investment till date is approx Rs10,000. I haven't sold any of my stocks yet.

background: I am an engg. 25yrs single. My financial status is sound. To put it in nutshell, I have abt Rs 15k every month spare (after my monthly expenses, EMI for house and liq assets for the 11th hr) and I have decided to invest that money in market.

My 2 pence: I am a complete beginner and have a few presumptions abt the market
1. the current market is probably at its lowest point or very close to it. from the peak of 21k its now abt 8.5k and although it may still go down, in the long run ( 3 to 5 yrs ) its bound to be closer to 15k then 10k i.e. atleast a 50-70% gain.

2. SIPs are going to be one of the best ways to invest in companies, that have a long standing brand name, but whose stocks have taken a hit rite now. my logic being, if the stocks continue to fall, i get more units and in the long run ( 3 to 5 yrs) the price is goin to be more then what it is today, resulting in good returns.

3. day trading is for pros and nebies like me sud not be doin it, atleast in the rookie yr.

4. A better strategy would be to buy stocks keepin long term objectives in mind, and if the price rises sharply ( 3 to 5% ), then sell if off on next day.

4. shorting is out of Q for newbies like me.

My experiences till date: