Please explain this options behaviour.

p699

I think I am missing some basics here!
Today was expiry day(30MAR). I have been observing MRF since past week, but did not invest in it(I am still a newbie!). My guess was that the option premiums are going to increase. Because the underlying price was increasing. So I was observing 60000 strike price closely. While the underlying price rose in the end, the premium price declined steadiy since past 2 days. For all other strike prices the premiums rose for past 2 days. Why the difference in behaviour:confused: ? Does it have something to do with "in the money" and "out the money" ?
The underlying price closed at 59950.
See option chain:
https://www.nseindia.com/live_market/dynaContent/live_watch/option_chain/optionKeys.jsp?symbolCode=1310&symbol=MRF&symbol=mrf&instrument=OPTSTK&date=-&segmentLink=17&segmentLink=17
Please explain,Thanks.

travi

I think I am missing some basics here!
Today was expiry day(30MAR). I have been observing MRF since past week, but did not invest in it(I am still a newbie!). My guess was that the option premiums are going to increase. Because the underlying price was increasing. So I was observing 60000 strike price closely. While the underlying price rose in the end, the premium price declined steadiy since past 2 days. For all other strike prices the premiums rose for past 2 days. Why the difference in behaviour:confused: ? Does it have something to do with "in the money" and "out the money" ?
The underlying price closed at 59950.
See option chain:
https://www.nseindia.com/live_market/dynaContent/live_watch/option_chain/optionKeys.jsp?symbolCode=1310&symbol=MRF&symbol=mrf&instrument=OPTSTK&date=-&segmentLink=17&segmentLink=17
Please explain,Thanks.
Its most likely a liquidity issue, look at the OI, hardly anything.
When there are a good nmber of buyers and sellers, the true value is evaluated more fairly else it just gets skewed like that.

ram2010