Options Writer Dilemma

Hi,

I am a newbie trader who wants to learn about options.
I learned it from some e book that options writer is liable to pay back to the new buyer and sits on an unlimited loss for limited premium.

But, i was not very sure that who actually qualifies as the options writer.
So, for example, if i purchased a call of CE 5500 for Rs 150 and sold it 3 days later for 180 and the same call becomes 220 after another 5 days then am i liable to pay the difference (210 - 180) to the new buyer?

Am i the options writer here? and would i have to pay the further rise in this call? Please help .

Thanks,

PS: I know my name does not suggest i am a newbie :)

absolute.zero

So, for example, if i purchased a call of CE 5500 for Rs 150 and sold it 3 days later for 180 and the same call becomes 220 after another 5 days then am i liable to pay the difference (210 - 180) to the new buyer?

Am i the options writer here? and would i have to pay the further rise in this call? Please help .
No, you squared off your position, so you have nothing to do with the future rise in the price of option. You are not an option writer here as you just did two things....you bought / you sold.

No, you squared off your position, so you have nothing to do with the future rise in the price of option. You are not an option writer here as you just did two things....you bought / you sold.

Thanks Absolute Zero!!!

Can you please tell me who is an options writer then?

Thanking in anticipation

Thanks for explaining the concept of options writer , that is what my understanding was as well.

But, then if i am first buying a call and then selling it off then would i also not qualify as an options writer (for selling the call) and hence there is a potential to incur unlimited loss for the premium the new buyer might have.

Is my understanding correct guys or i misunderstood something?

Thanks