how to short sell..

i am a newbie in the stock market..i am trading with sharekhan and using tradetiger..
plz someone tell me about the short sell.
i.e. how is it done, what are the pros and cons.
also one interesting thing that i noticed was that i was able to trade for much more than the cash that i have in my account..i learnt it is some margin thing provided by the DP...i would like to know much margin money sharekhan provides.
like if i have say 5000 in my account, then upto what amount in can trade?

bunny

When you expect the share price to go down, you can sell it at that moment and later buy it back at a lower price. Thus you get some profit. This is normal selling.

In the equity segment, short-selling means selling those shares which have not been delivered into your account. In this case, you "borrow" shares from your brokers pool and sell it. When the price goes down, you buy it back with profit and return the shares to your brokers pool. See below illustration:
  1. A share of scrip ABC is trading at Rs. 100 at 10:15 AM. You expect the price to reach down Rs. 90 by closing. But you do not have any delivery of it in your account.
  2. So you borrow some(assuming 10) shares from your broker's pool and sell it @ 100. So your account is now credited with 100 x 10 = 1,000.
  3. At closing, price reaches Rs. 90. So you must buy those at Rs. 90. Thus, your account will be now debited by Rs. 90 x 10 = 900.
  4. The 10 shares which you bought just now are then returned to the broker from whom you borrowed. And there is a profit of Rs. 100 profit in your account.

Risk of short selling in equity cash segment: