Options - Price and premiums

lemondew

Hi all,

Just thought I ll share a couple of things I know on options which I have been working on since last 2 years. A lot of folks here have also told me to share the same. Hopefully it will add to our knowledge. Anything you would like to point out feel free to post so that we can all benefit. I ll try to keep it brief and will update as and when I ll have time.

Assuming everyone knows the basic of options. Its available at
http://zerodha.com/varsity/module/option-theory/

lemondew

For example consider 31st may 2016 for this june series. Consider premiums for ATM options strike
As per this image On 31-5-2016 at 11:50 SBI futures were trading at 195.85. The premium of SBIN 195 calls =9.1 (column F) puts = 8.35(column g) Combined premium of straddle (column I) 17.45. This is 8.9% of its futures price (column J).

The combined premium of Nifty at same time was 270.6 or 3.30% of its futures price.

The image also shows the stocks in order from higher premium to lower. Here BHEL had highest premium percentage while Wipro had lowest premium percentage in stocks.Nifty had lowest. Also keep in mind some stocks tend to have higher premium while others dont. Nifty always have lower premiums compared to volatile stocks like tatasteel.

Last edited:

DSM

My view :

When there is momentum and strength in the market, high IV's are secondary.... Options prices zoom up arithmetically as well as geometrically. If only looking at IV, one may miss a good trade.

An important thing which one should keep in mind while deciding on option strategies is the Implied volatility.
High IVs mean high premiums. Options are expensive. Low Ivs mean low premiums. options are cheap.

lemondew