Is Technical Analysis a farce

Status
Not open for further replies.

anuragmunjal

I have been trading the market for the past 15 yrs. I have personally spent a lot of time & money in learning TA. The only rich analyists I have come across are the ones who are selling software, charting services, trading systems, tips etc. but am yet to meet a technician who has made serious money trading the markets. Even if there are a few succesful persons out of the thousands or maybe lakhs of people who are using TA, it can also be attributed to their pesonal flair for trading or plain luck. At times one gets the feeling that TA is a big farce. It is a big industry of software sellers, bookwriters & sellers, trading system sellers, tipsellers who have been feeding off us (the small investor or trader).

I would like to invite views on this subject .

bunny

I sympathize with you, you seem to have borne quite a good loss on it as it seems.

Anyways, me too using TA and making good money(and I am neither a book writer/publisher/tip provider/public analyst/software seller/etc). I trade only mine and my mother's account. BTW, I don't even have a actual TA software. All my software has is few common indicators(which I never use, I don't even use the basic indicators like EMA,SMA, BB,RSI,stochs, etc,). My use is only for drawing the candlestick charts.

Perhaps I and others can help you if you post your strategy and correct if anything goes wrong.

anuragmunjal

Thnx for the reply. In any case I was expecting a lot of opposition .
As far as the question of earning money goes, I have myself been a scalper
and did decently for myself. As a matter of fact at one point my personal turnover averaged between 100-200 cr a day trading gold when commodities were introduced by Mcx.
My question still remains that why do these so called technical gurus sell their recommandations & not trade their own account.

bunny