ULIP - Surrender or hold or continue?

I have been putting in 10000 in LIC Money plus for past 3 yrs. Presently I have about 2450 units allocated. I can continue holding this policy without further premiums since premiums would be adjusted from the present units. Alternately, I can surrender the policy, in which case, i will barely break even on the premiums paid.

My agent says I should invest for 2 more years. By that time I should have made a decent profit to exit.

This is the only ULIP policy I ever bought. I have no statements from LIC which tell me how the units are adjusted. :annoyed:

alroyraj

Most ULIPs need to be invested for minimum period of 3 years depending on the duration and the same can be carried till 5 years.
Also a recent rule by IRDA says that if investment duration is 5 years ,no charges can be deducted.

I have been putting in 10000 in LIC Money plus for past 3 yrs. Presently I have about 2450 units allocated. I can continue holding this policy without further premiums since premiums would be adjusted from the present units. Alternately, I can surrender the policy, in which case, i will barely break even on the premiums paid.

My agent says I should invest for 2 more years. By that time I should have made a decent profit to exit.

This is the only ULIP policy I ever bought. I have no statements from LIC which tell me how the units are adjusted. :annoyed:
1. If you are not happy with ULIP performance... don't pay any more premiums, as minimum 3 yr installments are over.

2. If you have invested for only tax purpose,better surrender it and invest in another ULIP of any other ELSS or .. any tax saving instrument.So that you can use that amount for getting tax exemptions this year.

3. If you have invested for good returns in longterm, then wait for atleast 1 economic cycle (6 to 7 yrs), so that the proportion of higher units allocation charges other one time charges becomes negligible proportion and you can expect decent returns.