Investment Advice

Hi,

I am totally new to investments as I have just started my career in S/w Industry (2+ years). I need your Guidance regarding Few Things. My main concern right now is to save tax and earn some profits

1) I have opted for UTI ULIP Plan for 10 years.(Long Term)

2) I will be investing in FDs for tax Savings (5 years) (Medium Term)

3) I want to invest in ELSS (Short Term)

My Question is regarding the ELSS and ULIP. Searching on NET and your paper made me confused, I was thinking of investing 10K in ELSS, on googling I found out HDFC Tax Saver is good, some papershowed Principle MF is doing good? Which should I buy? What should I look for ? I am totally confused.

Regarding ULIP- How Can I track, my ULIP? Is the Decision for UTI ULIP is good or bad. What are current Trends?

Please advise me. I am new to investment markets and your advice will motivate me towards good investment.

Thanks and Regards,

Shival Sharma

ULIP : Unit linked insurance polices which are mainly meant for giving insurance coverage to investor & at the same time to earn profits by investing in equites.
ULIPs takes lots of charges for insurance & invest only some amt in equites.

ELSS: Mutual funds will only invest all the amount in equities

so u have to choose whether u want insurance ?

my advice is that simply invest ELSS(mutual funds) + for insurance go for LIC of india

Best ELSS is Birla tax relief 96, sbi magnum, kotak,........

ULIPS are better in todays market since...Equity itself is going down and the other open market debt funds are also not giving good returns so where does a consumer invest...

He/She invests in ULIPS...they are a capital guaranteed plans which will allow you to transfer money from Equity to Debt switched 12 times a year...so that you can maximise your wealth looking at the market conditions at that point in time...