OPTIONS after expiry date

24-NOV expiry of NIFTY is going down today.

I understand why its going down, time decay etc. But, who would be willing buy this OPTION now? At 3.30pm today, this OPTION will be null and void right?

What is the motivation for someone to buy it few hours before expiry?

PS: Newbie here, sorry for asking something basic.

john302928

24-NOV expiry of NIFTY is going down today.

I understand why its going down, time decay etc. But, who would be willing buy this OPTION now? At 3.30pm today, this OPTION will be null and void right?

What is the motivation for someone to buy it few hours before expiry?

PS: Newbie here, sorry for asking something basic.
Hi, you didnt mention about strike price.you can buy option even at 3.00pm. That is not at all an issue. It is all about entering in the right strike price and have adequate knowledge in deciding the direction of the trend and know how long the trend might be there.

Thanks for the reply.

For example, OPT-NIFTY-24-Nov-2016-7900-CE is selling at 8.35 premium. (down -16% today).

My question is, if someone buys at 3pm, then what is their strategy? To sell the same to someone else within 30 minutes?

Is it like passing a hot potato and hoping to make profits in the process?

john302928

Thanks for the reply.

For example, OPT-NIFTY-24-Nov-2016-7900-CE is selling at 8.35 premium. (down -16% today).

My question is, if someone buys at 3pm, then what is their strategy? To sell the same to someone else within 30 minutes?

There are two cases.
First case: