Mutual fund returns

Hi,
I am new to the stock market and mutual funds. I have read a lot of articles and have convinced myself that Mutual fund is the best option for a beginner like me. I want to invest in MF mainly for tax saving (ELSS) and also get some profit (if lucky;)). I know that the lock-in is 3 years. My question is when they say that an MF has 27% growth then what is the profit that I get if I invest Rs.1000 every month thru SIP. What amount will I get after 3 years and how?

Thanks

ranj_2k

Dear MF Investor,
It is advisable for beginners to enter stock market through SIP. If you invest lumpsum Rs.10,000 and if growth is 27% p.a. then you will earn Rs.8100 after three years after deducting applicable entry / exit load. Through, SIP method also in long run you will earn more or less same return. You can refer valueresearchonline.com for choosing right MF.

Thanks for the reply.

Some more questions:
1. How did you calculate the amount of Rs. 8100?
2. What is the role of NAV and what is its relation with the growth figure of 27%?
3. I will get the above amount on closing the MF account after 3 years like we do in bank deposit or I will have to sell teh MF units to someone?

I suggest,dont take SIP route for ELSS schemes.
Let me explain,if you start a SIP of say 1000 per month in Jan 2007.Now,ELSS schemes have lock-in of 3 years.Hence,in Dec 2010,you can only redeem units equivalent to 1000 invested in Jan 2007 and likewise for subsequent months.
My personal opinion is that SIP is best route for doing MF investments for log term basis.For ELSS,do some research and time your investment through lumpsum only.
Visit valueresearchonline.com,moneycontrol.com for more info.

Regards,
Santosh Mhatre

1. I dont know how he calculated it. But usually entry load is 2.25% and exit load after 3 years is 0%. this may differ from fund to fund but almost 90% of "Equity diversified funds" uses this entry and exit loads.