Writing options need help

Dear Traders,

I am new to options, I need help on how to write a option. For writing a option, for e.g Nifty with a strike price of 5500 and expiry 26 Aug 2010, what should I do, should I select that nifty option, enter the lot size and give just sell (like short selling of stocks though I dont own it) or is there any other way. Kindly clarify.

Last edited:

rkkarnani

Dear Traders,

I am new to options, I need help on how to write a option. For writing a option, for e.g Nifty with a strike price of 5500 and expiry 26 Aug 2010, what should I do, should I select that nifty option, enter the lot size and give just sell (like short selling of stocks though I dont own it) or is there any other way. Kindly clarify.
First thing is : People entering Options should be very very careful in writing options. The clarification sought by you indicates (I may be wrong) that you are absolutely raw!!
Acquaint yourself with the hazards of Option writing before doing it.
As far as How to do it , what you have mentioned is correct. We do it just as we Sell any other Stock or Future.

All the best.

Yeah. You are right. I am quite new. I am understanding options. I understand the decay of the time value which turns in favour of the options writer most of the time and I also learn that 80% of the options go unexercised. Though it said to be extremely risky to write options, writing deep out of money seems to be a quite reasonable that to near expiry. I am just exploring the options of options. Thanks for your prompt response.

Yeah. You are right. I am quite new. I am understanding options. I understand the decay of the time value which turns in favour of the options writer most of the time and I also learn that 80% of the options go unexercised. Though it said to be extremely risky to write options, writing deep out of money seems to be a quite reasonable that to near expiry. I am just exploring the options of options. Thanks for your prompt response.