Stop loss trigger price

hi guys,
I am relatively new to trading. I have recently realised the importance of stoploss and want to use it for all my future trades.

I have gr8 difficulty in understanding the stop loss price on ICICIdirect!!! And i need help!!! cause i dont want my trades to be without a stop :(

when i go to the buy page on ICICIdirect, along with the limit price, i have to quote the stop loss trigger price. ( is this the same as stop loss?? i have read the description on icici website........) even if i quote a stoploss trigger price, they never ask me the stop loss price!!

also, if a stock is trading at 100 and i intend to buy it when it falls to 95, i set a limit order of 95 ........... in this case the problem is........ i cant set SLTP ne where between Rs 85 to 99........ if its less then 95 ......then i get msg saying sltp is less then the last traded price.........and if i put ne thin more then 95 /........... i get msg saying sltp cannot be more then buy price....!!!!

i know what a stop loss is........ and to me it seems logical that the value shud be roughly arnd the last level of support .......which in this case is lets say Rs 85.

Can someone tell me how i can set a stop loss at 85 ( or corresponding sltp price in order to get stop loss of Rs 85)

I am need of gr8 help.........as i cant go on trading without a stop loss......... cause one day .......... this lamb may get slaughtered :(

Thanks all
Rishi

NOMINDTR

Kindly do not discuss an issue in so many threads Rishi.

AW10

Hi Rishi,

Stoploss order is separate from your main order. So you need to put it after placing the main buy/sell order.

A order has following components -
1) Action i.e. Buy or Sell
2) Security /stock/ instrument
3) Prices - a) market = i.e execute the order at whatever price available now