SPAN Margin

Hello How are you people.

Need to know SPAN Margin for the following portfolio as each broker is charging a different amount

All Feb Series, each one lot.

5500 Call Sell
5500 Put Buy
5200 Call Buy
5200 Put Sell

-Talon

Yesterday I shorted
4800CE 29Mar for 605.75
4800PE 29Mar for 39.1
A premium of 32242 was credited to my account. Margin of 64903 was debited from my account. Does it seem normal? I am new to options trading. Thanks.

Also, what do you think of this position taken?

ethan hunt

Hi, I am also totaly confused at the margin / mtm requirements policy of brokers.

Anyways my LOGIC says:

You have shorted CALL & PUT so you will receive premium of 605+39 = 644 x 50 (lot size) = 32200

Broker will block margin which seems to be 32451 per lot x 2 = 64903 approx

Now the point to note: What is the actual total outflow of funds: Is it 64903-32200 = 32703 ?

OR some other figure ?

Your should not be liable for MTM as the positions are hedged.

Regarding how safe the strategy is only expirenced traders can enlighten us.

Seniors / Experienced option traders, kindly comment.

BTW: I have also posted some questions at http://www.traderji.com/search.php?searchid=3444871 for clarifications on options.

Thanks,

Last edited:
And everyday, I receive a margin report in which that margin blocked amount keeps changing. Is it as per MTM? Or does it change because of daily change in margin requirements?

ethan hunt

If I recall correctly, I've read somewhere, NSE revises margin 6 times a day !!! Once at open (or is it before open), 4 times during market hrs & finally after close. Maybe that's why margin blocked changes everyday. This also means if there is large volatilty the margin can be revised drastically & you can be asked to pay fresh margin in addition to what is already blocked, this in turn means you should not invest total funds but keep margin revision requirement funds handy to avoid auto sq off.