SIP - Equity Based - Need Advice

Hi all,

I am pretty new to the mutual funds segment. I learnt about sip in mutual funds and i plan to invest three k each month. One in elss and two in equity funds. Could you guys please advice what are the viable options available for maximum profit? I will be continuing with the elss one and plan to dematerialize the other ones after three years. i am looking for more than 30% profit in these three years given the market conditions are good.

Thanks in advance.

Hi all,

I am pretty new to the mutual funds segment. I learnt about sip in mutual funds and i plan to invest three k each month. One in elss and two in equity funds. Could you guys please advice what are the viable options available for maximum profit? I will be continuing with the elss one and plan to dematerialize the other ones after three years. i am looking for more than 30% profit in these three years given the market conditions are good.

Thanks in advance.
I have stopped investing in ELSS due to the uncertainty around how would these be managed post April 2012. So, I don't want any money locked in there.

For a newbie, you should start with a balanced fund like HDFC Prudence, HDFC Balanced or DSPBR balanced. As you learn the intricacies, you can switch to large caps like DSPBR Top 100 and Franklin India Bluechip. Please stay away from midcaps till you figure out your financial goals in a holistic manner.

Thanks for the reply. I appreciate it. Please advice one aggressive fund which has a good track record of a past performance? Any recommendations for the same would be of great help. I am looking to invest for a time period of 3 to 5 years.

Am planning to invest one 2 balanced ones and 1 aggressive one. Is that a wise move to look at a good growth at a period of 3 years?

yodlee99