shortselling be careful

Hi Guys,

I am new to trading and i want to share u my experience with my first shortselling

On the 4 th day of my online intraday trading , I mistakenly sold 100 hcl stocks, mistakenly because i did not buy them.
As a software engineer, i thought the trascation will be cancelled.

The hcl share increased by value.
next day evening , my broker called me and said u had done a "short" but did not cover them( The broker is sleeping untill then). so they will go to Auction and u have to pay 20% penalty for that.

But i sold only 100 shares, so escaped with very less penalty.

I request anyone to explaninly clearly about shortselling in cash market and in Futures.

bunny

Hi Niranjan,
Actually, it is not the broker's responsibility to check whether it will short or not. Short selling is a legal and very common practice, so nobody will put a check on it.

And if you want to earn money by shorting, then play in derivatives(risky for a person who has not even completed 5 days of trading, mind it).

Also, since you are only a 4-day old trader, I think this piece of information may be useful to it, though you may already know it:
In the cash segment, you will get delivery after T+2 days. So suppose your BUY order is executed on Monday, the shares will be credited into your account by evening of Wednesday(after closing). This is called rolling settlement. So you can sell them(without fear of coming short on it) only in Monday's, or Thursday's onwards sessions. You cannot sell on Tuesday and Wednesday session. Some novices sell on 2nd and 3rd day without being aware of T+2 settlement.

Some brokers allow "Buy Today Sell Tomorrow" (BTST). But this is safe only when you already have sufficient delivery of the said stock. If you don't have, you will have to cover the short. Actually, BTST isn't anything new, just a is deceptive new name for conventional practice. So be careful.