Risk % ???

nac

It's recommended that to risk 2% in one trade is ideal for beginners, I read.

But I couldn't find such low risk trade opportunity (may be I am not calculating it right... don't know) in bigger time frame or don't know how/where to look.

I understand it that the 2% risk is of trade value, not 2% of my whole capital.

So assuming I have Rs. 100/- as capital. I buy 1 unit of ABC stock worth Rs. 50/- and my stop loss is Rs. 49/- (not Rs. 48/- as my stop loss)

Now my question is whether...

- I am wrong calculating the risk based on trade value (or)
- I am not good at finding the low risk trade opportunity

Those who are good at money management and practicing in real time, please leave your comments.

TraderRavi

MM is the holy grail

But I couldn't find such low risk trade opportunity (may be I am not calculating it right... don't know) in bigger time frame or don't know how/where to look.

So assuming I have Rs. 100/- as capital. I buy 1 unit of ABC stock worth Rs. 50/- and my stop loss is Rs. 49/- (not Rs. 48/- as my stop loss)

Those who are good at money management and practicing in real time, please leave your comments.
2% risk is for capital per trade, is not it ?

quinox

The way i do it is....

i calculate risk as a % of my capital per trade.

Lets say my capital - 100000
Lets say I risk 2% of my capital on each trade.
so 2% of 100000 = 2000...this is the max risk i can take on a single trade.

Now lets say i want to buy nifty futures at 5500. My SL will be at 5480 i.e. 20 points. So if my SL is hit, I am going to loose 20 * 50 = 1000 per lot.
As my maximum risk on a single trade is 2000, hence i will buy only 2 lots of nifty.

The above is a simple calculation. If you want to be more stringent, then you can add your transaction cost , slippage etc and decide your position size accordingly.

nac

Quinox,

Thank you...

Assuming 30k for 1 lot of NF, you're using 60k for the above position.