Query on "Stop Loss" in Sharekhan

Hey Guys..

I am new to traderji and new to this whole share bazaar...

Have started trading with Sharekhan last week... Have a very basic query on its "Fast Trading" functioning... Tried getting it clarified with their customer care but they advised me to mail them... But people hardly reply by mails... Neways i am resending the mail to them...

Meanwhile I have seen that traderji is a very friendly place... So if someone using sharekhan around would request them to guide me how to do the "STOP LOSS" in the fast trade and is the "TRIGGER" field in the fast trade refer the same thing...

Many Thanks..
Chirag

What is a Stop Loss Order?

It is an order placed with a broker to buy or sell once the stock reaches a certain price. A stop loss is designed to limit an investor's loss on a security position. Setting a stop loss order for 10% below the price at which you bought the stock will limit your loss to 10%. For example, let's say you just purchased RELIANCE at Rs.500.00 per share. Right after buying the stock you enter a stop loss market order for Rs. 450.00. This means that if the stock falls below Rs. 450.00 per share your shares will then be sold at the prevailing market price.

Positives and Negatives

The advantage of a stop order is you don't have to monitor on a daily basis how a security is performing. This is especially handy when you are on vacation or having a full time job that prevents you from watching your security for an extended period of time.