newbie: Whom to choose? ICICI, Reliance, sharekhan or anyone else?

Hello everyone,
As you can see from my memberID I am a newbie to investing (as kids while playing, we used to call such players katcha papad, and give them batting twice, hence this nickname :D ) Not started yet, doing basic research and reading a lot of posts from this forum. I have gained some basic vocabulary inorder to be able to make my first post here.

I will be buying and holding shares, and sell them after some time. I guess my types are called delivery-based investing. My budget is not much. Right now I have around 50-75K to invest. We'll see on the basis of how it goes later. So I am definitely not a heavy trader. I'd also like to have a seamless online trading facility, including IPO and mutual funds. I've read some posts here which go into the nitty-gritty details of some trading terminals etc which I guess applies only to heavy traders dealing in lacs of rupees per day.

Now I am confused as to which demat service I should be choosing. I just spoke to a RelianceMoney representative (well a lukkha guy with no knowledge is more like it), and he was not v.clear with what charges they apply. Nevertheless after speaking to his boss on phone as I understand their charges are as follows:

1) Brokerage charge: 1 paise per transaction (as opposed to .75% of ICICI), irrespective of the transaction amount. Both for Buy & Sell. He said this 1 paise includes all Service Tax, Education cess etc. which generally comes out to 12.36% in ICICI.

2) 0.125% SEBI Security Transaction charges inorder to take delivery of (or hold) the shares. This he said is a SEBI charge common to all and there's no escaping it.

3) Apart from that they have a Rs 500 coupon valid for a year. For the first year they will waive it off for me, but for next year onwards it will be Rs500 per annum for trading account and Rs 50/ p.a. for demat account maintenance.