Newbie going through a sharp learning curve

Happy new Year to all,

I am rather new to trading; intention is to do it fulltime, but with limited funds, so exercising discipline is of paramount importance.

I am based in London - a very expensive city, and one thought that keeps resurfacing is that trading can be conducted from anywhere in the world, provided reliable broadband services can be taken for granted.

I have always been interested in the stock markets, although have never worked in that environment, and it was back in March 2006 when I started looking into trading. My initial approach was to observe the impact on the markets that any economic releases had (mainly USA and its repercussions in Western Europe, etc.). The fundamentals being interest rate policies, unemployment, GDP, inflation, trade balances, gold, oil, strength/weakness, to name a few. I started logging these, along with any obvious impact they may have had on market indices. I focused mainly on the macro side. I would also view some "trend" charts from time to time.

Around November 2006, I decided to examine charting and the various theories deployed. I must admit to being mesmerised at first with Elliot Waves, Fibonacci, bolli bands, MACDs, RSI, etc. With lack of any direct instruction and only brief guidance notes (unless one subscribes), I started by reading input from various forums, seemingly populated by professional traders, using languages I was not at first familiar with, but in time, I started undersatnding some, and gained a little confidence. However, I then started questioning whether trading should be based only on fundamentals, or TA (as some professionals do) or a combination. For now, I am of the opinion that one cannot ignore either of the 2 principles. I then discovered this forum yesterday, and felt at ease in the knowledge that there are gurus here who share knowledge in a sympathetic manner; thank you all for that.