Metastock or Moneycontrol stockcharts???

Dear friends,

I'm new to the field of investing and dont know much about technical analysis.

Initially i used to rely on the information fetched by money-rediff.com
later on divulged to in.finance.yahoo.in (or .com) i forgot to fetch stock info.

Interestingly when i came across www.moneycontrol.com i stopped using both yahoo and rediff as my prime source of data and relied intrinsically on moneycontrol.com interactive charts.

Of lately i got an opportunity to sit infront of my friends pc to review his metastock trader.
after some time i realized metastock was real pain in the ***
first you would have to compile so much data, then convert it and blah blah blah and still you're not done, you have to split and what not? how on earth does a novice do all this?

i found moneycontrol.com charts far superior than metastock and much more interactive too.

why would one waste their money on such technical software, if you get a better option for free.

the only possible way of metastock making sense is if you would purchase it from viratech.com as i believe they are the sole providers of eod and historical eod data alongwith the ability to incorporate new stocks realtime! hmmm thats interesting, no hassles. But is it really worth it?

Is in not wise to invest your hard earned money in equities rather than in such software if your investment quantum in not humongous?

metastock users out there, how on earth do you manage to convert and include stock splits in your EOD data?

i did find a post by Mr hiren, who has provided EOD data upto 2008, but what after that? We witnessed the biggest stock market crash thereafter. How and who would convert such data, its too laborious for me :(

but i truly appreciate the hardwork done by mr hiren, truly kind and deserving appreciation :thumb:

but i really wonder, is it worth buying metastock and sit compiling all historical data or use moneycontrol.com/interactive charts which is free :clap: