Is trend your friend?

oxusmorouz

eh, I don't believe so, atleast, not from my backtesting experiments. Posting the equity curve trend following system (blue) and equity curve for buy-hold (red). This is the best rule I had and it's gone for a sixer in the long run (with reasonable slippages, without brokerage!!). This process has made me question the foundations of technical analysis itself. Maybe I'm a lousy system developer and you guys can do better.

If someone can disprove the following deductions, it would be great.

Deductions:
1) Trend following works in the short run, trading dailies (from my understanding)
2) Trend following requires active management of portfolio leading to significant slippages, brokerage commissions, investment in data, software and hardware, taxes and time
3) Trend following goes for a sixer in the long run (trading daily charts) compared with buy and hold.
4) It is impossible to beat buy-hold returns on a basis adjusted for risk, money and time spent...eh, atleast not by trend following.

Well, with due respects, I have no intention of criticizing trend followers or the momentum traders and I am open to be disproved.

Last edited:

oxusmorouz

Since image uploading is restricted to 5 images, I'm posting more images in this post.
Metastock code for the rule and equity curve shall be posted if necessary.
Perhaps this explains why many technical traders struggle in the long run?

The reason I chose Dow Jones Industrial Average data is because the OHLC extends back upto 1970. Nifty data extends only 12 years back and most of it is manipulated by some scam or the other.

Last edited:

oxusmorouz