ICICIDIRECT Intraday / Margin issues

Hello,

I am using Icicidirect to buy/sell the stocks. I am new to Intraday and i need help with SLTP order placement. When i enter the value in SLTP column, i am getting error " Stop loss trigger price cannot be greater than Limit price".

if anyone using icicidirect to trade and what value do you input in SLTP field?? please help me.

Ex:
using Margin buy, i bought 5000 stock of "jaiprakash associates" at 63

I will following info to sell the stock in Margin Sell:

Last trade price:58
Limit Price:63
SLTP:57

my idea is, if the stock falls to 57, sell the JP stock at the limit price of 63.

baludalal

i think it won't work this way. Because, stop loss trigger value should precede actual sell value in a downtrend. So in order to sell at 63. trigger should be 64. But then CMP should be above this even logically
pl try this way. i was also confused the way you are .

Hello,

I am using Icicidirect to buy/sell the stocks. I am new to Intraday and i need help with SLTP order placement. When i enter the value in SLTP column, i am getting error " Stop loss trigger price cannot be greater than Limit price".

if anyone using icicidirect to trade and what value do you input in SLTP field?? please help me.

Ex:
using Margin buy, i bought 5000 stock of "jaiprakash associates" at 63

I will following info to sell the stock in Margin Sell:

Last trade price:58
Limit Price:63
SLTP:57

my idea is, if the stock falls to 57, sell the JP stock at the limit price of 63.
You should be squaring off rather than using Margin Sell again. A margin sell will initiate a fresh short position. When a short position is initiated, it mean stop loss should be at a higher price than limit price.

Similarly when margin buy position is open and you need to square off, the stop loss price will be lower than the limit price.

Shepherd

praveen98

HI VIJAY,