how to invest 20 lakhs

hi

I'm new to trading & investing. Is there really any way we could get better returns than bank fd's. If yes please suggest. I'm willing to take risk and can stay invested long term and willing to put some effort. I'm open to suggestions from the experienced members of this community.

Thanks

Reggie

Mr. Subba,

1. Since you are new to trading and investing please do tread cautiously.

2. The market has already run up quite high, and may have some more upside upto Nov. & Dec. In my opinion, there will be a sharp correction thereafter.

3. The Govt. is on shaky legs and in minority. Politically the scenario is not encouraging as there can be early polls. The market does not like uncertanity and it is one more reason to be defensive.

4. If you wish to invest 20 lacs, you should have a long term horizon of atleast 5 years and beyond. In the short term, whereas bank FD will give you positive return, the market correction can easily take away 30-40% of your capital.

5. If your time frame for investing is beyond 5 years, invest in small bits of either 50 thousand or 1 lac a month, and not all at one time.

7. Your investment should include good scripts. Don't buy something because it is cheap, buy because it has potential and value.

8. Do not rely on tips and brokers who promise to double your money. What they mostly look to is double their money.

9. Take time to read, research and learn to identify good quality companies in niche business and having future growth potential.

10. Ultimately while investing remember, you are finally responsible for your money and you make your own decisions.

All the best.

hi

I'm new to trading & investing. Is there really any way we could get better returns than bank fd's. If yes please suggest. I'm willing to take risk and can stay invested long term and willing to put some effort. I'm open to suggestions from the experienced members of this community.

Thanks

MANISH_DAMANI