Can we predict currency movement with options data

I have todays ( May 21) EOD data for USD-INR. Options data is for June.

Currency spot - 55.4 , June Futures - 55.73

June 55 PUT - 0.25 Open Interest 52240

June 56 CALL - 0.43 Open Interest 28990

My question is Can we predict the USD-INR currency movement for very short term ( below 2 weeks) by the above data. It clearly looks the movement is up. But The futures is already 33 paisa above the spot.

I am new to currency trading. Can we initiate a long position here?

I have todays ( May 23) EOD data for USD-INR. Options Data is for June

spot 55.6 , June Futures 55.88

June 55 PUT - 0.22 Open Interest 69400

June 56 CALL - 0.51 Open Interest 77560

Two days back i asked a question. Any body who is experienced in Currency Trading, Please answer.

I am not asking for just this trading call. In General, Can we predict currency movement with options data?

ashu1234

Hi,
I don't trade currency but I do keep a track of it. You can track options OI data, but I don't think it will always help you reason being USD/INR is traded from 9 to 5 and us market opens at 7pm, so major driving force of this pair is USD and major events took place overnight, so like nifty you'll not get complete picture of underlying through options. One more reason is that major position and trades are done in futures and forward market, so not much to see currency option table here at nse. Still you can apply general rules to get some hint like currently there's huge writing up of CE 56 in May as well as June and I think expiry will be below 56.

neo1599

I have todays ( May 23) EOD data for USD-INR. Options Data is for June

spot 55.6 , June Futures 55.88

June 55 PUT - 0.22 Open Interest 69400

June 56 CALL - 0.51 Open Interest 77560

Two days back i asked a question. Any body who is experienced in Currency Trading, Please answer.

I am not asking for just this trading call. In General, Can we predict currency movement with options data?