unlimited risk???

Hi All,
I am very new to option trading. I have a few bharti shares ( avg price Rs 300). The price has been continuously going down....... I am buying on each downslide as i am very positive on the long term prospects of this company and think this windfall rite now is temporary. I however cant keep buying the stock for long on each fall as i am sure my money will run out sometime :annoyed:

I want to buy some put options as a hedge to my investment for the next 3-6 months. My plan is to wait for the 3rd qr and annual results ( arnd next may ) to see the effect of the present price-war on the bottom line of the company.

If the price goes down( (say 225) i want to exercise my put option to make some money. This way i intend to keep my short term losses to manageable level and possibly generate money to re-invest in stock for long term holding.

Reading about use of options for hedging, this seems to be plausible. However, I have read in so many places that a put option carries unlimited risk ( downside)!!!!!!! this statement frankly with my limited knowledge of options, scares me.

Can someone from this forum, try and explain to me the worst case scenarios in the above mentioned bharti transaction? if i buy a put option, how do i stand to lose unlimited amount of money ( worst case scenario???)

I use ICICIdirect for my investments.

Regards,
Rishi

rkkarnani

Both the options carry unlimited risk: CALL and PUT!! The risk is unlimited when you "SELL" an Option!!!! Selling an option is also called writing an option!! Option writers have unlimited risk. A person who "BUYS" an option has a risk limited to the Premium he pays!!!
For having a look at the very basics, you may have a look at this write up :
http://tinyurl.com/czz7uk

Capricorn

Writing a put option will carry the risk u mentioned. However what u have to do is buy a put option to reduce your risk. So all u loose will be the premium/buy price as worst case scenario. Cheers:)

Hi All,