SJD's Notes

sanjosedesi

hmm.. I have been thinking of NCFM.
Sure ... just saw it ... seems interesting. I did an exec-MBA in 2010 ... while I learnt a bit of fundamentals, I think CMT / CTA / NCFM kinda programs might have been a better choice, more so given that the perpetual bullish phase of the desi markets is over ... thanks to our Rajmata, a dumb (dumb as in mute) PM, a dumber crown prince (different meaning of dumb here) and the various didis and bhaiyyas. And there was a time I disliked Jayalalitha ... she seems like a role model of dignity nowadays ;-)

I hope political venting is allowed, otherwise, feel free to edit / delete.

sanjosedesi

Dow Theory

The Dow Theory talks about confirming of averages. Seeing the title I thought it was something like the "Quadra", but no ... it was confirmation of different averages of dow jones - industrials and rails. When both give the same signal, that signal has much better value than entering based on one average but the other average has not confirmed yet. This has many issues ... such as lag in confirming where you may be sitting out of the market during half of a bull run, and probably more whipsaws because you enter late and you exit late.

Anyway, I was wondering how this would be used to desi markets. Comparing bank nifty and nifty is not correct since banks are only a sub-component (however big) of nifty. The alternative is SENSEX. So compare Nifty and Sensex. I have never tracked sensex, but it probably is better to do so.

When will you compare ... I think the biggest comparison points are the breakout or breakdown points. If Nifty is showing a breakout and sensex is not ... it should be a warning sign.

How often will it help? I "suspect" it might help 5 % of the times when you are about to enter breakouts on a daily level. So of course you can not use this confirming signals business as your primarily trading model. You should use them only to check outlier conditions.