Queries regarding F & O basic terminology

Hi All,

I am new to option and derivative trading. I have been struggling understanding and interpreting the terminology. Can someone answer to my questions

1. how to interprete the market trend depending on the open interest data changes for futures , call and put options

2. how to interprete the market trend depending on the volume and price changes for futures , call and put options

3.What are put call ratio, PCR OI (I think put call ratio open interest) and PCR Volume? And how to interprete based on the data for those values

4. What is basis ? and how does the change of basis help in predicting the market

5. What is position limit and rollover

Please help me with these , if someone change point to the documents with these details it I would be very greatfull to them.

thanks in advance.
Ravi

Hi beginner_av,

Thanks for the link. I got cleared most of the questions.

I have done the following recently , can you let me know your comments on these.
FOR SEPT28
Brought TISCO call option 490.00 for 32
Sold TISCO call option 520 for 14

trying to implement the Bull call spread.
1. After TISCO crosses 520 , there is no point for me to hold these options, am I right.
2.I am using icici , for suppose I do what to exit before expire, do I need to square off both of them as seperate transactions or do we have something to do it as a whole.

thanks,
Ravi

C

Czar

i have a query if i may use your thread...

say i have certain futures & options of this month, now on settlement do i need to cover/sell the same or do they get settled with the last price of the month?

If you have bought futures, you can either square off your position before expiry. On expiry day, the final settlement price will be used for marking to market, and your position will be closed.