please explain the diffrence between margin and leverage

DSM

Amanbhati

In simple terms : Margin is the deposit you keep. Leverage is what you get to transact in return.

E.g To buy BankNifty Futures of 25 lot size @ 17,680, you will need a margin (deposit with the broker) of approx. 35,500 to carry fw. a trade overnight. While the actual value of the trade is 25*17,680 = 442,000.

Leverage is the exposure/power/advantage that you get. In the above case, 442,000 minus 35,500 is the leverage i.e 406,500

The ratio of leverage or exposure would be 442,000/35,500 i.e 12.45

sir,
i am new to trading
i m confused in two words...
please explain the diffrence between margin and leverage
:confused::confused::confused:

thanks sir
sir it s a humble request
please explain in equities with example...
i m confused in 2x leverage and 2%margin....
please sir..........

jagankris

thanks sir
sir it s a humble request
please explain in equities with example...
i m confused in 2x leverage and 2%margin....
please sir..........
2x leverage means - two times.
Say you have 10,000 rs in your account.
You can day trade - take positions (long or short) 20,000rs max limit.

2% Margin means - Hypothetically say a futures contract is trading at 1 Lakh and 2000 rs minimum deposit is required to take open position of that futures contract.

If Trade goes against one favor and then one needs to keep replenishing the minimum margin requirement of 2% to have that position open.

DSM

Amanbhati,

Just some friendly advise :

You have mentioned that you are a beginner, and your questions are about leverage, margin etc. An analogy would be of a driver who having got his new driving license, is asking about torque, racing circuits and race cars.... ideally, you should be focussing on discipline, rules, strategy, capital management etc. etc.

There are a lot many good thread on these subjects. Suggest do take some time to read up on these.

Good luck.

thanks a lot sir.....