Pinocchio Bar (Pin Bar) Formation & System

vikrit

In this thread will post details of pin bar formation (abbreviation Pinocchio bar formation). The term coined by Martin Pring.

The source of details is google, these are my notes on topics as I studied around, I am just a student of TA, not a master, so if anybody find anything wrong or incorrect please correct me, if have any advice please give.

This is a bar chart formation but didnt found anything specific to use bar chart. So after initial details will post with candlestick alone. I experienced this works better on higher time frame. Higher the time frame, certainty of move is more.

I will try to post my trades or decisions by this if possible. Also if anybody used it, using it and trading then please post your experiences, trades etc if possible.

vikrit

Pinocchio Bar formation name is based on the old European story about the wooden boy, Pinocchio, whose nose grew longer every time he told a lie. The bigger the lie the bigger the nose!

So, in trading Pinocchio bar (which is abbreviated to pin bar) means a bar which poking his long nose outwards and is telling you a lie (an untruth) about where the price is going. For having a pin bar formation on chart you need to see three things 2 eyes and 1 nose.

vikrit

From now onwards will use term pin bar. See following chart, this is a completed pin bar formation (in bar chart and candlestick chart)-

The bar named as a ‘nose’ is pin bar, and high of the side bars’ high are ‘eyes’ of pin bar.
We always trade in the opposite direction of nose pointing. Like here we will go for short.

Valid pin bar must-

1. have open and close within first eye’s high if pointing up or within first eye’s low if pointing down.
2. stick out from surrounding bars, it can’t be a inside bar.

Good pin bar formation will (have above 2 points and )–

3. have a long nose
4. stick out at least 50% or more of pin bar from surrounding eyes