In fut What happens to counterparty when you square off your position before expiry?

Hello all!
I am new to Derivatives. I know in order to close your open position you have to take the opposite position. But happens to your counter-party??

For example,
--> On 15th Nov A long on 3 lots in November Nifty future that expire on 27. B takes a short position for 3 lots.

--->A wants to square off on 18 Nov with decent gain. Gets his Margin+Profit.

--->Here is my doubt. But what happens to B?? Just because A wants to square off, B doest not have close his position?!

So does he has to close his position compulsorily or he will get a new counter party??

Thanks guys!!

Re: In fut What happens to counterparty when you square off your position before expi

Hello all!
I am new to Derivatives. I know in order to close your open position you have to take the opposite position. But happens to your counter-party??

For example,
--> On 15th Nov A long on 3 lots in November Nifty future that expire on 27. B takes a short position for 3 lots.

--->Here is my doubt. But what happens to B?? Just because A wants to square off, B doest not have close his position?!

So does he has to close his position compulsorily or he will get a new counter party??

Thanks guys!!
A wants to square off his long position so he sells 3 contracts to C and a C buys 3 contracts and there by position of A gets squared off .Now A is out of picture and the position stands as follows :

C Long 3 contracts ( here we can have even a case of C,D and E long one contract each )

B Short 3 contracts....

Smart_trade

sibu3168

Re: In fut What happens to counterparty when you square off your position before expi

Hello all!

For example,

Thanks guys!!
When you squared up your position, then the risk will transfered to the new buyer/buyers and the former seller/sellers. At the end of the settlement (expiry day), all positions will be closed compulsorily with the closing price of underlying asset.