ICICIDIRECT Margin Sell issue

Ok I am completely new to share trading

i just opened an demate account with ICICI.

So on Friday i purchased the some share of Tata steel worth 438 with"Cash Buy" option.

on tuesday it`s price increased to 465 & i tried to sell it by"cash sell" option but it said i had to allocate the share(what is this?),I went to "demate allocation" but nothing happened there..

So i clicked on "Margin Sell" option and sold it.

Now i am getting this statement :-

I am totally confused,Do i have a deal? or my money is stuck?

Also tell me in simple words what is the margin sell?

Thank you in advance :)

krm

So on Friday i purchased the some share of Tata steel worth 438 with"Cash Buy" option.

on tuesday it`s price increased to 465 & i tried to sell it by"cash sell" option but it said i had to allocate the share(what is this?),I went to "demate allocation" but nothing happened there..

Margin sell in ICICI is intraday short selling of shares. You sold @ 465 and broker covered the qty at around 469 for you.

If you have cash purchased earlier, in ICICI you have to allocate shares for selling them.

krm

It takes 2 days to receive the bought shares in demat account..
You could have used the BTST (buy today sell tomorrow ) option..
Please note that Margin sell is an intraday activity which is squared after 3 p.m or so at current prevailing price. ( you can sell without holding shares..).

So Net is you made a loss on Marging sell on the day.. However all is not lost as you would get your shares in demat account on Friday - if not use BTST to sell and book your profit -- of course assuming the price is better on Friday.

NOMINDTR

Margin sell is intra day short sell.