How to make money by writing CALL option just before exiry

abhinkoi

Hello All,

I have been trading options for last 6 months and whatever I have earned is just by buying a call and selling it after getting a proper premium.

I have been hearing something called TIME DECAY which means that as soon as expiry comes the premium of a CALL option does rise as much as underlying. Meaning if Nifty 3000 CALL premium was at 90 whe Nifty was at 2900 and the days left in exipry are 15, it would be very less like 40 or 50 when the expiry reaches and even Nifty crosses 3000.

I hope all the Senior members understand what I am trying to say but for all new bies it may be a difficult task to understand for the time being.

What my query is "can someone tell everyone a strategy how to make money by writing a CALL option before expiry". Because the bottom line is 80% of the contracts expire worthless and I want to cash from this line.

Please help for the benefit of all.
If I miss on anything I would request Senior members to clear the query on my behalf.

Thanks a ton in advance

Regards
Abhinav

Yes Abhinav.... yr strategy is not new... many of us think the same way.

The skill lies in picking the strike price. I would recommend an out of the money call, say 3200 or 3250 (June), where the bid/offer spreads are low, AND which are likely to remain out of the money at expiry (29th June) ... hence would expire worthless

Remember you will have to provide hefty margins, to avoid an automatic square off before expiry (which brokerage do u deal thru' ?).

The risk is a sudden bullish surge over the next 3 days ... causing nifty to breach 3200 or 3250 (as applicable), and that's where your judgment comes in

Good luck

AGILENT

abhinkoi

Thanks for the reply Agilent.
Can you please explain me with an example -

Lets say Nifty is at 3039 right now and June 3100 CALL is at 27 and June 3000CALL is at 72

Now I want to understand the risk involve in both the conditions mentioned below -