Asking about Implied Volatility

Hi all,
I am a stock trader and new to options trading. I need your help on implied volatility (IV). I read Jay Kaeppel's "The option trader's guide to probability, volatility and timing." I understand that what is high for IBM maybe low for Coca Cola, ie IV 60% maybe high for IBM, but IV 60% is low for Cola Cola. He clearly state that we need to compare current IV with past few years IV. For example: if in the last two years, IV for IBM is range from 30 to 70, then current IV 60% is high. I know how to calculate current IV (yes, there is many IV calculator outthere). My problem is I cant find any software that can calculate past IV. For example at this moment I know current IV for IBM is 60% but I dont know this IV is high or not since I can't compare it with the past IV.

What software or how can I get/calculate IV for past years?

Many thanks,
NathanBoy.

You have to be more precise about things. There are 2 things here
1. Historical Volatily ( called Statistical Volatility)- this is the volatility of the underlying asset over time. over time there is definite pattern.

This becomes important as an input to option pricing ( this is the theoretical price)

2. Implied volatily is different- it is the Volatility that current Option price ( market quote)suggests . You get that by tracking it back with option pricing model- ie you go reverse, you know the price and other paramets- what volatility does the option price sugges?
As the name suggest- it is " implied"

A lot of people here do not give a damn about these things and randomly buy options- but their days will be numbered. This is the fundamental thing you need to check before you buy or sell options. IF IV changes- the pricing will be dramatically affected with little or no movement in the stock.

Unfortunately IV or Historical figures have to be computed- as there is no reliable source.

It is simple you buy/sell at closer to theoretical price- as over time things change.