About Fear of Missing Out

Krushna

I am placing this question in "psychology" section as it is this "Fear" thing that is causing me a lot of trouble.
I am a day trader, presently only paper trading after losing some last year and now concentrating on my other source of income more. After getting a bit free from the other work and getting back some capital AND paper trading proving me worthy of trading with live money, I will start trading.
My problem is "Fear Of Missing Out". I am a discretionary trader, not even EMA on my chart, only S/R (Lance Beggs style). I trade in direction of strength and against weakness. Sounds so simple. But when the candles start forming I become someone else. I constantly tell myself only to trade when the set up is jumping out of the screen at me. But its easier said than done. When I see something remotely similar to some of my set up, I "Feel" (not "Think") that i should be on this trade and get greedy and end up taking too many bad trades. My mind that has studied the strategy and backtested takes a back seat and someone else takes the driving seat.
How do I get over this? Would really appreciate some pointers from someone who has been through this and overcome it.
Regards
Krushna.

primitivetrader

do you have a written chceklist? and wht are the conditions which need to be satisfied before you pull the plug. i think you dont have it as you do not a system is place. discretionary trading demands lots of exp and screen time, which you are lacking.

if you have proper system thn the fear of missing out may be overcome over a period of time (another reason for the fear is you have lost money in trading).

i dont know why have you opted for discretionary trading. but if you are using lance begg style of trading thn you need to follow it to the T. dont try to combine couple of methods into one - recipe for loss.